JUEMUN 2018: Conference Theme

Model UNESCO on World Malnutrition and Hunger

JUEMUN 2018 will have three Meetings with 48 delegates in each Meeting. Each Meeting will have 4 Committees of 12 members each.

UNESCO has 194 members in five regions – Africa, The Arab States, Europe and North America, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Asia and the Pacific. To raise awareness of the region we live in and to add focus to our discussions, JUEMUN 2018 delegates will represent UNESCO members in the Asia-Pacific Region.

The Asia and the Pacific Region of UNESCO has 48 Members and two Associate Members — Macao China and Tokelau, which are not independent countries. The Cook Islands and Niue are members of UNESCO but they are not United Nations Member States. The Russian Federation and Kazakhstan are also in the UNESCO region of Europe and North America.

JUEMUN 2018 Countries List

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Darussalam, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Macao China, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

JUEMUN Regional Blocks List

ASEAN 11 plus Timor-Leste

Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam. plus Timor-Leste

Pacific 13

Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Tonga, Nieue

South Asia 12

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Islamic Republic of Iran, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Turkey, Sri Lanka, , Turkmenistan, New Zealand

North East Asia-Central Asia 13

Australia, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Japan, Republic of Korea, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan

JUEMUN 2018 Keynote Plenary Speaker

UNCT-KG-button-SDG-2The JUEMUN 2018 Keynote Plenary Speaker will be Dr. Irene Galtung, Kyoto University of Foreign Studies Pax Mundi Professor of Peace Studies. Irene’s academic work supports the conviction that ‘hunger should be illegal’ and that it will only be made illegal if the people of the world in all walks of life in all places agree that a sufficient and nutritious diet is a human right. Indeed, all else in life and thus, the achievement of the other SDGs by 20130, depends on the world’s capacity, and the world’s will, to properly feed all human beings.

JUEMUN 2018 Oxfam Hunger Banquet

The opening events of JUEMUN 2018 will include our unique JUEMUN version of an
Oxfam Hunger Banquet. Delegates draw tickets at random which assigns them to a Unknown-1meal at 4 different levels of that match with the latest statistics on global income gaps. The smallest percentage of delegates will have the best of food, the largest proportion will have the simplest food, and the rest will be in between. This will be our way of raising awareness of the realities of World Hunger before we begin to talk about malnutrition and hunger.


JUEMUN 2018 has registered our event with Oxfam NGOs in the United Kingdom, Canada, the USA and other nations. We are linked with a global community of people in more than 90 countries of the world who are convinced that hunger can be eliminated. Oxfam Canada has a motto that captures the hope of JUEMUN delegates – hungry for change.




UNESCO’s motto is “Building Peace in the Minds of Men and Women” and its programmes of Education for All and Education for Sustainable Development inspired the UN’s 2000-2015 Millennium Development Goal programme and its successor, the 2016-20130 Sustainable Development Goal action plan.

Kyoto University of Foreign Studies is the only member in Kyoto of the UNESCO unesco as sch colorAssociated Schools Project University Network. Kyoto Gaidai Nishiko High School is the leading member of the Kyoto Consortium of the UNESCO Associated Schools Project. Kyoto Gaidai Nishiko High School will host the All-Kansai Model United Nations Conference on Refugees for secondary school students from June 18-20, 2018